recovery is a rollercoaster

Sorry no post yesterday, I woke up in the most pain I’ve been in since being in hospital, largely due to an agency nurse who was in charge of looking after me overnight and forgot to give me medicine, do my obs or just generally do her job. A real shame as the majority of nurse’s that have been caring for me have been absolutely brilliant.

Anyway yesterday I woke up in a world of pain, my back by my kidneys felt like I’d been punched repeatedly by Mike Tyson with a baseball bat, my guts were on fire and every move sent waves of pain up and down each side. When my usual nurse came in at 6am even she was shocked – I’m not really a crying type person and I was in floods of tears, i think a mixture of pain and frustration of just not being able to do anything to feel better.

Luckily New fabulous nurse got on the case and gave me some painkillers and helped me breath and get through the pain till they started working and went off to sleep for a while – which is pretty much how I spent the rest of the day sleeping and taking pain relief.

I didn’t realise how important it is to stay medicated while recovering, it’s not a case of getting high or loopy it’s purely a case of suppressing the feeling of pain so that you can move around, sleep comfortably and do the things you need to do to help your recovery process. Not having any pain relief for 12hours puts you into a world of pain and actually takes a while to get on top of the pain relief again to a  point where you are back up and running.

Anyway today is a better day, for that I am grateful.

About rdesain

I am a passionate advocate for ehealth, I believe we are at an exciting point in time that technology can revolutionize the delivery of healthcare. I am also a patient, with a chronic disease and this is my journey of major surgery - I hope to highlight where possible , opportunities for eHealth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

