my video of the interactive patient screen in my room

Apologies I was on some rather heavy pain meds at the time so I’m a bit slow…. but you get the general idea I hope.
This video was me trying to show the touch screen I have access to in my bed and the good parts and not so good parts.

The nurses also use this to ask me how my pain is and whether I need anything – this information is used by management to grade the nurses and see how long they are spending with patients and how well they are doing there jobs. I think thats a bit stupid as some of the nurses forget to use it and some of them just swipe and tick yes yes yes yes and log out. It seems like a bit of a management centric idea rather than asking the nurses what might work for them. I think if you had RFID tags that monitored the movements of the nurses you’d get a better idea – they all work really hard, well most of them do – and a couple of questions on this machine won’t be sharing that with management in my eyes.
Usability wise the check boxes are really small and it can be quite fiddly to tick it – particularly as the touch screen is generally not flat it’s in a vertical position as people are watching telly on it so can be hard to select things as your eye looking at something from the top as it’s lying down – usual use of a touch screen – think iPad is different to looking at it in a vertical position – think TV or monitor.

About rdesain

I am a passionate advocate for ehealth, I believe we are at an exciting point in time that technology can revolutionize the delivery of healthcare. I am also a patient, with a chronic disease and this is my journey of major surgery - I hope to highlight where possible , opportunities for eHealth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my video of the interactive patient screen in my room

  1. mepatient says:

    sheesh those drugs did make me a bit dopey!
    The television was not free at all – not even the free to air channels which is a bit suspect in my eyes – I thought it was illegal to charge people to watch publicly funded channels like ABC?
    I”m going to put up some photo’s of other things I saw in hospital as well.

  2. Pingback: photo’s from the ward | mepatient

Leave a Reply

